top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture~ashley

Hello 50


I have completed another year around the sun & it is a tens column changing year. The funny thing is, I don't really feel any older, but I say that every year. I'm not quite as nimble as when I was 25, but I can hang in there pretty well. As much fun as my birthday is, yesterday was sobering for me. I have officially outlived my parents. I know that sounds horrible, but I remember when I started my 40's I was nervous. I had a lot of living to do & didn't want it cut short.


My 4th decade of life was a good one. I watched my children grow up, graduate from high school & 2 graduate from college. #3 graduates in May & #4 in a few years. The older 2 have good jobs, that they like & #1 was married in May. We've celebrated birthdays & holidays. We moved to a new city. We've lived through a pandemic & still have our sanity intact. Within our extended family, we've had marriages & babies being born. I love watching our family tree grow.


We've watched friends' children get married & have children too. We've spent many weekends at the lake & making tons of memories. We've had a few family trips that have been a blast too. This past January we remembered why we love big & show it often after Hopson's dad passed away. There are been losses and tears, but God is good through it all. Really, we just lived life. Nothing out of the ordinary, but I relished the beautiful simplicity of it.


When I turned 40, I challenged myself to blog every day to see if I could do it. I couldn't, and I learned it's ok to fail. I will not be challenging myself to do that this year. I would like to blog more because I'm hoping this is like a diary for my children/grandchildren one day.


The older I get the less I really care about what most people think of me. I know I can be a hard pill to swallow. I'm rule-oriented and am drawn to truth. I have a clear picture of right and wrong. I like things a certain way & if I'm your friend I will fight for you tooth and nail. Please don't backstab me. It's hurtful & I'm not as forgiving as I need to be. I'm working on extending grace to others and myself, and it's hard to do. But, life is too short for me to have to worry if you like me. I don't have a ton of friends, but the ones I do have I love fiercely! (you know who you are)


I love Jesus. He & I have a great time hanging out, and I feel Him most when I study His word. He is light & life to me. If you want to know Him better, let me know & I'll help you. His truth and promises are too good not to share. #comeandsee - If you know, you know! (If you don't know, do a google search & find out because it is worth it!) I believe in giving 100% to everything I do. If something is worth doing, it should be done well. I believe in loving big. Don't ever let an opportunity to say 'I love you' go by you. You never know if it's the last time you will get to tell it to someone. I believe in being generous with my time, talent (as limited as it is), and treasure. I may be trying to bless someone, but I'm always the one who is blessed.


So, here's to 50! I sent my friends a youtube video of a Sally O'Malley skit from SNL. (this is a different skit) The high-waisted pants hit a little close to home & the whole "I'm not one of those gals who's afraid to hide her age. I'm 50 years old!" I can do the kick, but the jump into the stretch is a little harder & I might actually pull something. I plan on being 80+ & still dancing. If I'm not, I'll probably die.


All joking aside, I know it's going to be a great decade of life because I have today. My goal is to be just as thankful for tomorrow as I am today. (and to dance & continue to play the drums) May this year be full of blessings for you & your family too.


Thankful for another 365 days & to be blessed beyond measure!

~ashley

I'm 50 years old!

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page